Last updated : Saturday, 02 December 2023


The Vale is an amateur football league based in the Dumfries and Galloway area of Scotland. It was founded in 1971 as Lochvale F.C., but changed its name to Abbey Vale F.C. in 1974. The league currently has 12 teams, and plays its matches at Maryfield Park in New Abbey.


The Vale was founded in 1971 by a group of local footballers who wanted to create a more competitive environment for themselves. The club started out in the Dumfries Amateur League, and quickly rose through the ranks. In 2001, they moved up to the South of Scotland Football League, where they have remained ever since.

Vale action

The Vale has enjoyed a good amount of success in recent years. They won the South of Scotland League in 2022-23, and also won the Alba Cup and the South of Scotland League Cup in the same season.

Current teams

  • Abbey Vale F.C.
  • Braehead United F.C.
  • Castle Douglas Thistle F.C.
  • Dalbeattie Star F.C.
  • Glenafton Athletic F.C.
  • Kirkcowan F.C.
  • New Cumnock Juniors F.C.
  • St Cuthbert Wanderers F.C.
  • St Johnstone F.C.
  • Stewartry F.C.
  • Tweeddale Rovers F.C.


Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia