Last updated : Monday, 27 November 2023

Vanarama National League

The Vanarama National League is the fifth tier of the English football league system. It is also known as the National League, and is the only division in the system which is organised on a national rather than regional basis.

The league was founded in 2004 as the Football Conference, and was renamed the National League in 2016. It is currently sponsored by Vanarama, a car leasing company.


Vanorrama League action

The Vanarama National League consists of 24 clubs, divided into two divisions: the National League North and the National League South. Each division plays a 46-game season, with the top two clubs in each division promoted to the English Football League Two. The bottom four clubs in each division are relegated to the National League North and South respectively.

The Vanarama National League also has a play-off system, with the winners of each division's play-offs entering a two-legged final to determine the overall champions.

Current season

Vanorrama League match

The current season of the Vanarama National League is the 2022-23 season. The current champions are Stockport County, who won the play-offs after finishing third in the National League North.

The current bottom clubs in the National League North are Boston United and Gateshead, while the current bottom clubs in the National League South are Wealdstone and Dover Athletic.


Vanorrama League teams

Featured Divisions

Featured Teams

  • Penketh United

    Penketh United

    Warrington, England

    Cheshire League 2
    View Team Details

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia