Last updated : Thursday, 22 February 2024

Watford Observer Sunday League

The Watford Observer Sunday League is an amateur football league in the town of Watford, England. It was founded in 1921 and currently has 41 teams competing in four divisions. The league is affiliated to the Hertfordshire Football Association.


The Watford Observer Sunday League was founded in 1921 by the Watford Observer newspaper. The inaugural season saw 12 teams compete, and the league has grown steadily ever since. The current league structure was introduced in 2022, with four divisions of ten teams each.


  • Premier Division
  • Division One
  • Division Two
  • Division Three
Watford Observer Sunday League action

The Premier Division is the top division in the league, and the champions are promoted to the Herts Senior League. The bottom two teams in the Premier Division are relegated to Division One.

The other three divisions are all non-league, and there is no promotion or relegation between them.

Cup competitions

Watford Observer Sunday League match

The Watford Observer Sunday League also runs a number of cup competitions, including:

  • Watford Observer Sunday League Cup
  • Denis Jackson Intermediate Cup
  • Eric Hand Challenge Cup
  • Terry Devereux Memorial President's Cup

The Watford Observer Sunday League Cup is the most prestigious cup competition in the league, and the winners are automatically entered into the Herts Senior Cup.


Watford Observer Sunday League teams

Featured Divisions

  • Watford Observer Sunday League Division 3

    Division 3

    1 team
    View Fixtures, Results & League Table

Featured Teams

  • AFC Bushey

    AFC Bushey

    Watford, England

    Division 3
    View Team Details

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia