Last updated : Tuesday, 21 May 2024

Wear Valley Sunday League

The Wear Valley Sunday League is an amateur football league based in the Wear Valley area of County Durham, England. It was founded in 1982 and currently has two divisions, with twelve teams in the 1st division and eight in the 2nd division.

The league is affiliated to the Durham County Football Association and its headquarters are in Willington. The current champions are Macmillan Nurses, who won the 1st division title in the 2021-22 season.


Wear Vally Sunday League action

The Wear Valley Sunday League was founded in 1982 by a group of local football enthusiasts. The league started with just four teams, but it has grown steadily over the years and now has over 20 teams.

The league has been won by a number of different teams over the years, including Macmillan Nurses, who have won the title six times. Other recent winners include Escomb United, Spennymoor Town Juniors, and Coundon Sports.


Wear Vally Sunday League match

The Wear Valley Sunday League season runs from September to April. Each team plays each other team in their division twice, once at home and once away. The top two teams in each division at the end of the season are promoted to the next division, while the bottom two teams are relegated to the lower division.

The league also has a cup competition, the Wear Valley Sunday League Cup. The cup is open to all teams in the league and is played in a knock-out format.


Wear Vally Sunday League teams

Featured Divisions

  • Wear Vally Sunday League division 3

    division 3

    1 team
    View Fixtures, Results & League Table
  • Wear Vally Sunday League division 3

    division 3

    1 team
    View Fixtures, Results & League Table

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia