Last updated : Friday, 01 December 2023

Welsh National League

The Welsh National League is an amateur football league in Wales. It is operated by the Football Association of Wales and is the fourth tier of the Welsh football league system.


The Welsh National League was founded in 1921. The original league consisted of 12 teams from North Wales. The league expanded over the years and by the 1950s, it had 20 teams.

Welsh National League action

In 1992, the Welsh National League was split into two divisions: the Welsh National League (North) and the Welsh National League (South). The league was further split into two divisions in 2002: the Welsh National League (Division One) and the Welsh National League (Division Two).

In 2019, the Welsh National League was reorganized as part of a restructuring of the Welsh football pyramid. The league was renamed the Cymru Alliance and became the third tier of the Welsh football league system.

Current Structure

Welsh National League match

The Cymru Alliance consists of 16 teams. The teams play each other twice, once home and once away. The top two teams at the end of the season are promoted to the Cymru Premier. The bottom two teams are relegated to the Ardal Leagues.


Featured Divisions

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia