Last updated : Friday, 01 December 2023

York John Smiths Sunday Football League

The York John Smiths Sunday Football League is an amateur football league based in York, England. It was founded in 1909 and currently has 10 divisions, with over 100 teams competing.


The league was founded in 1909 as the York Sunday League. It was renamed the York John Smiths Sunday Football League in 1998 after the brewery became the league's main sponsor.

York John Smiths Sunday Football League action

The league has been won by a number of clubs over the years, including York City, Heworth, and Selby Town. The current champions are Fulford United.


The league currently has 10 divisions:

  • Premier Division
  • Division One
  • Division Two
  • Division Three
  • Division Four
  • Division Five
  • Division Six
  • Division Seven
  • Division Eight
  • Division Nine
  • Division Ten


York John Smiths Sunday Football League match

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia