Last updated : Thursday, 30 November 2023


The A-League is the top-level men's professional football league in Australia. It was founded in 2004 and currently consists of 12 teams. The league is played over a 26-round season, with each team playing each other once home and away. The top six teams at the end of the regular season qualify for the finals series, which culminates in the Grand Final.


The A-League was founded in 2004 as a replacement for the National Soccer League (NSL). The NSL had been in operation since 1977, but had been struggling financially in recent years. The A-League was designed to be a more professional and sustainable league.

Aleague action

The A-League has been a success since its inception. The league has attracted large crowds and has been broadcast to a global audience. The A-League has also helped to improve the standard of football in Australia.

Current Teams


Featured Divisions

  • Aleague Division 1

    Division 1

    1 team
    View Fixtures, Results & League Table

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia