Last updated : Saturday, 25 November 2023

EFL Championship

The EFL Championship is the second-highest division of the English football league system, after the Premier League. It is contested by 24 clubs, and the season runs from August to May.

The top two teams in the Championship are automatically promoted to the Premier League, while the third-placed team goes into the playoffs along with the teams finishing fourth to sixth. The winner of the playoffs also gains promotion to the Premier League.

EFL Championship action

The current champions of the EFL Championship are Burnley, who won the title in the 2022-23 season.


Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia