Last updated : Tuesday, 09 April 2024

Essex & Suffolk Border League

The Essex & Suffolk Border League is an amateur football league based in England. The league has a total of four divisions, with the Premier Division sitting at Step 7 of the National League System. The top club in the Premier Division may apply for promotion to Division One of the Eastern Counties League.


The league was founded in 1911, although the league includes records of the Colchester Borough League (founded 1893) and Colchester & District League (founded 1903) in its history. Founder members of the Border League in the inaugural 1911–12 season included Clacton Town, Colchester Town, West Bergholt and West Mersea. Over the last 100 years the league has seen many changes in its status with many clubs progressing to a higher level. The overlying trend has been the migration of the larger clubs and their replacement by smaller clubs with more basic facilities.


  • Premier Division (Step 7 of the National League System)
  • Division One
  • Division Two
  • Division Three
  • Division Four

Cup competitions

  • Amos Cup
  • Covid Cup
  • League Knock Out Cup
  • Reserve Knock Out Cup
  • Tommy Thompson Cup


Essex & Suffolk Border League action

Featured Divisions

Featured Teams

Essex & Suffolk Border League teams come from

  • Brightlingsea,
  • Clacton-on-Sea,
  • Colchester,

and other areas within Essex.

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia