Last updated : Friday, 01 December 2023


League Two is the fourth tier of the English football league system, and is also known as the EFL League Two. It is administered by the English Football League (EFL).

The league currently consists of 24 teams, and each team plays each other twice, once at home and once away. The top two teams at the end of the season are promoted to League One, while the bottom four teams are relegated to National League.

League Two action

The current champions of League Two are Forest Green Rovers, who won the title in the 2022-23 season.


League Two was formed in 1992, when the Football League was restructured. It was originally called the Third Division, but was renamed League Two in 2004.

League Two match

The league has been won by 18 different teams, with Lincoln City being the most successful, having won the title four times.

Current teams


Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia