Last updated : Monday, 27 November 2023

Velammal Trophy

The Velammal Trophy is an amateur football league in Chennai, India. It is organized by the Velammal Group of Educational Institutions. The league was founded in 1999 and is currently in its 25th season.


The Velammal Trophy was founded in 1999 by the Velammal Group of Educational Institutions. The league was started with the aim of promoting football in Chennai and providing a platform for amateur footballers to compete.

Velammal Trophy action

The first season of the Velammal Trophy was won by the MRF Pace Foundation. The current champions are the Indian Bank.


The Velammal Trophy is a knockout tournament. The league consists of 32 teams, which are divided into four groups of eight teams each. The top two teams from each group advance to the quarterfinals.

Velammal Trophy match

The quarterfinals, semifinals, and final are played on a single-leg basis. The final is played at the Nehru Stadium in Chennai.

Past Winners

  • 1999: MRF Pace Foundation
  • 2000: Indian Bank
  • 2001: Indian Bank
  • 2002: Indian Bank
  • 2003: Indian Bank
  • 2004: Indian Bank
  • 2005: Indian Bank
  • 2006: Indian Bank
  • 2007: Indian Bank
  • 2008: Indian Bank


Featured Teams

  • MMC FC

    MMC FC

    Madurai, India

    View Team Details

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia