Last updated : Sunday, 07 April 2024

Teesborough Sunday League

The Teesborough Sunday League is an amateur football league based in the Teesside area of England. It was founded in 1961/62 as the Sunday Friendly Football League, and was renamed the Teesborough Football League in the late 1960s.


The Teesborough Sunday League was founded in 1961/62 by Mr. Norman Maughan. Mr. Maughan was a player and manager at Clairville FC, and he wanted to create a league for teams that were unable to compete in the Middlesbrough and District Sunday League.

Teesborough Sunday League action

The inaugural season of the Teesborough Sunday League saw just six teams compete. However, the league quickly grew in popularity, and by the early 1970s it had expanded to 12 teams. The league has continued to grow in recent years, and it now has over 50 teams competing in its two divisions.


The Teesborough Sunday League currently has two divisions:

  • Premier Division
  • Division 1
Teesborough Sunday League match

The Premier Division is the top flight of the league, and is made up of 10 teams. Division 1 is the second tier of the league, and is made up of 12 teams.


The Teesborough Sunday League season runs from September to April, with each team playing each other twice. The top two teams in the Premier Division at the end of the season are promoted to the Northern League, while the bottom two teams are relegated to Division 1.


Teesborough Sunday League teams

Featured Divisions

  • Teesborough Sunday League division 1

    division 1

    1 team
    View Fixtures, Results & League Table

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia