Last updated : Sunday, 26 November 2023


The Hospitals Charity Cup is an amateur football league in England that was founded in 1889. It is one of the oldest football competitions in the world. The cup is contested by teams from hospitals and other healthcare organizations. The proceeds from the competition are donated to charity.


The Hospitals Charity Cup was founded in 1889 by a group of doctors and nurses at the Royal Free Hospital in London. The first cup was won by the Royal Free Hospital team. The competition has been held every year since then, except during the two World Wars.

Hospitals Charity Cup action

The Hospitals Charity Cup has been won by a variety of teams over the years. Some of the most successful teams include the Royal Free Hospital, St. Thomas' Hospital, and Guy's Hospital.


The Hospitals Charity Cup is a knockout competition. The competition is open to teams from all over England. The teams are divided into regional groups. The winners of each regional group progress to the next round. The final is played at a neutral venue.

Recent winners

  • 2022: Guy's and St. Thomas' Hospital
  • 2021: King's College Hospital
  • 2020: Competition cancelled due to COVID-19 pandemic
  • 2019: Barts Health NHS Trust
  • 2018: Royal Free Hospital


Hospitals Charity Cup match

Featured Divisions

Featured Teams

  • FC Elmstead

    FC Elmstead

    Chislehurst, England

    Senior Division
    View Team Details

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia