Last updated : Saturday, 25 November 2023

Royal Air Force Challenge Cup

The Royal Air Force Challenge Cup is an annual football competition for amateur teams affiliated with the Royal Air Force. It is the most prestigious football competition in the RAF, and is open to all RAF stations and units.


The RAF Challenge Cup was first contested in 1922. The original trophy was donated by the Air Council, and was named the Air Council Challenge Cup. The trophy was renamed the Keith Christie Trophy in 2016, in honour of one of RAF FA Football's greatest coaches.

Royal Air Force Challenge Cup action

The RAF Challenge Cup has been won by a number of famous teams, including RAF Halton, RAF Lyneham, and RAF Wittering. The current holders of the trophy are RAF Benson.


The RAF Challenge Cup is a knock-out competition. The competition is split into two divisions, the Premier Division and the Championship Division. The Premier Division is contested by the top 16 teams in the RAF, while the Championship Division is contested by the remaining teams.

Royal Air Force Challenge Cup match

The competition begins in September, and the final is usually played in May. The final is usually held at a neutral venue, such as the Air Force Academy in Cranwell.


Featured Divisions

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia