Last updated : Sunday, 03 December 2023

Liverpool & District Sunday League

The Liverpool & District Sunday League is an amateur football league in Merseyside, England. It was founded in 1908 and is currently the largest Sunday league in the country, with over 400 teams competing in 16 divisions.


The Liverpool & District Sunday League was founded in 1908 by a group of local football enthusiasts. The first season saw 12 teams compete, and the league has since grown to become the largest Sunday league in the country.

Liverpool & District action

The league has produced a number of professional footballers, including Steven Gerrard, Jamie Carragher, and Robbie Fowler. Gerrard and Carragher both played for the Whiston Juniors team in the league, while Fowler played for the Croxteth Colts.


The Liverpool & District Sunday League is divided into two geographical sections, the Liverpool Section and the District Section. The top teams from each section compete in the Premier Division, which is at step 7 of the English football pyramid.

Liverpool & District match

The league also has a number of cup competitions, including the Tocher Trophy, the Quinn Cup, and the Liverpool County FA Sunday Challenge Cup.

Recent seasons

The current champions of the Liverpool & District Sunday League Premier Division are the Whiston Juniors. They won the title in the 2022-23 season, finishing one point ahead of Bootle.

Liverpool & District teams

The other teams in the top three were the Croxteth Colts and the Old Swan Athletic.


Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia