Last updated : Sunday, 09 June 2024

West Yorkshire Association Football League

The West Yorkshire Association Football League (WYAFL) is an amateur football league based in Yorkshire, England. It was previously known as the Leeds League until the name change in 1939. Although it is named the West Yorkshire League, clubs from the Harrogate and York areas of North Yorkshire also play in the competition.


The WYAFL was founded in 1894 as the Leeds League. It was renamed the West Yorkshire League in 1939. The league has been expanded several times over the years, and currently consists of three senior team divisions, and two for reserves.

Current divisions

  • Premier Division
  • Division One
  • Division Two
  • Alliance Division One
  • Alliance Division Two

Current champions

  • Premier Division: Carlton Athletic
  • Division One: Boroughbridge
  • Division Two: Campion

Domestic cup competitions

  • League Cup
  • League Trophy

Level on pyramid

West Yorkshire Association Football League action

The Premier Division of the WYAFL is at Level 11 of the English football league system.

Number of teams

The WYAFL currently has 42 teams, with 15 in the Premier Division, 15 in Division One, 12 in Division Two, and 10 in the two Alliance divisions.


West Yorkshire Association Football League match

Featured Divisions

Featured Teams

West Yorkshire Association Football League teams come from

  • Aberford,
  • Birstall,
  • Elland,
  • Halifax,
  • Knottingley,
  • Leeds,
  • Salcombe,
  • Sherburn in Elmet,
  • Wetherby,

and other areas within Calderdale, Devon, Kirklees, North Yorkshire, Wakefield.

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia